Today is Election Day.

The polls for this year's municipal election open at 6 a.m. and close at 6 p.m.

And if early voting totals are any indicator, county clerk David Shelton is expecting a busy day at the polling places.

“With four fewer precincts, we are at 150 more early votes than in 2015,” Shelton said, referencing the last municipal election. “In 2015, voter turnout was just under 25%. This year, we should easily pass 30% and maybe even higher.”

Shelton said 758 voters opted to cast an early ballot this year; early voting closed at noon on Monday.

Of those, 74 voters cast ballots via the county's traveling election board, another 277 mailed in absentee ballots and 407 people voted in-person at the courthouse.

To vote, local residents need only an Indiana driver's license or other state-issued I.D. That I.D. can be expired, Shelton said, as long as it didn't expire before the last presidential election, so November of 2016.

A passport or military-issued ID are also acceptable.

The Bureau of Motor Vehicles, located at 2031 Hart St., is open from 8:30 a.m. to 6:30 p.m. today.

Residents who have any questions or want to check their registration status, can visit, or contact the clerk's office at 812-895-4927 or visit

Those who typically had voted at the Washington Christian Center will instead go to KCARC 1972, at 711 Wheatland Road, to cast their ballots.

In Vincennes, Republican Cathy Lane, a former county assessor, and Democrat Angela Herron are vying for the position of clerk-treasurer. Incumbent Democrat Sharon Meek chose not to seek re-election.

Then in city council District 1, incumbent Republican Brian Grove, a local businessman, faces a challenge from Will Drews, a Democrat and the county's natural resource specialist.

Incumbent Democrat Traci Breece, who was appointed to the District 2 seat upon the death of Jim Westfall a year ago, faces Republican challenger Ed Gornall, and in District 3, Republican John Stangle will attempt to unseat long-time incumbent Democrat Scott Brown.

Also running in District 3 is a Libertarian Party candidate, the city's first, Shane Lemler.

In District 4, incumbent Dan Ravellette, a Democrat, is being challenged by Republican Michelle James, and Ryan Lough, a Republican, is running against Democrat Vicki Reeves in District 5.

The city's two long-time at-large members, Duane Chattin and Shirley Rose, both Democrats, are facing challenges from Republicans Marc McNeece and Tim Salters.

Salters has held the District 5 seat now for two terms, but left it behind to seek the at-large seat instead.

Edwardsport, too, is seeing contested races.

Republican candidates Charlie Hunt, Keith Martin and Benjamin Summers are running against Democrats Darrell Julian Jr., Earl Martin Jr. and James Newkirk for the three town council seats there.

The clerk-treasurer's post, too, is up for grabs with Republican Patricia Roark going up against Democrat Kim Robbins.

In Monroe City, Republican candidates Juan Fuller, Michael Johnson and incumbent Matt Powell and lone Democrat Bill Sampson are running for the three town council seats there.

In Bruceville, Democrat candidates Howard Lanam and David Cook will face Republicans Brandon Riggle, Timothy Murphy and Gregory Keller Jr. for the three seats on its town council.

And in Decker, Democrats Scott Johnson and Patricia Doades will seek re-election to their seats on the council against two Republicans, incumbent Jay Linneweber and newcomer Tresa Dobson.


Vincennes City 1 and 2 — Pace Community Action Agency Inc., 525 N. Fourth St.

Vincennes City 3 — Bowman Terrace Community Center, 413 Bowman Terrace

Vincennes City 4 — KCARC 1972, 711 Old Wheatland Road

Vincennes City 5 — Courthouse annex, 620 Busseron St.

Vincennes City 6 — Old French Towne, 600 Nicholas St.

Vincennes City 7 — Nazarene Church, 1902 Main St.

Vincennes City 8 — Hadi Shriners, 1502 College Ave.

Vincennes City 9 — YMCA of Vincennes annex building, 2010 College Drive

Vincennes City 10 — First Church of God, 1408 E. St. Clair St.

Vincennes City 11 — KCARC 1972, 711 Old Wheatland Road

Vincennes City 12 — Duke Energy, 800 Wheatland Road

Johnson Township (Decker) — Decker firehouse, 101 Main St.

Vigo 3 (Edwardsport) — firehouse, 100 Ind. 67

Washington Township (Bruceville) — firehouse, 5404 N. Ind. 67

Harrison Township (Monroe City) — Blue Jean Center, 1242 Main St., Unit 128

(0) entries

Sign the guestbook.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.