LAWRENCEVILLE, Ill. — Senior Jayley Akers and junior Chaylee Shick of Lawrenceville were selected to the all-Little Illini Conference girls basketball first team recently.

Akers, who signed with Indiana University-Kokomo in January, averaged a team-leading 18.9 points per game for the Lady Indians, who completed a 17-13 season. Shick was the team's second-leading scorer at 9.4 per game.

The league selected a 10-player first team, a five-player second team and nine for honorable mention. Lawrenceville junior Katelyn Higginbotham and Red Hill senior Hannah Murray were honorable mention picks from Lawrence County.

League champion Paris had four first-team players: Sarah Isaf, Karrington Krable, Jenna Gates and Madyson Rigby. They were joined by Olney's Anna Blank and Kenzie Weiler, Marshall's Maya Osborn and Newton's Brooke Jansen. The second team had Newton's Allison Harris, Marshall's Rachael Goekler, Olney's Tara Hughes, Casey's Eva Richardson and Flora's Emma Walden.

The other honorable mention picks were Audrey Hosselton, Casey; Taylor Brown, Flora; Kai Engledow, Marshall; Whitney Zumbahlen, Newton; Paige Steber, Olney; Kelsie Crampton, Paris; and Bailey Strauch, Robinson.

Paris went 8-0 to take the league title, followed by Olney and Marshall at 6-2, Lawrenceville and Newton at 5-3, Flora 3-5, Casey 2-6, Robinson 1-7 and Red Hill 0-8.

(0) entries

Sign the guestbook.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.